From Panic to Perfection: My Journey Creating an AR Treasure Hunt App in 24 Hours!

From Panic to Perfection: My Journey Creating an AR Treasure Hunt App in 24 Hours!

Discover How I Overcame Obstacles and Built an amazing AR App with the Help of an Amazing Team!

·

5 min read

Are you ready to hear about the most intense and rewarding 24 hours of my life? Read on to discover how I went from a state of desperate panic to creating an amazing AR app for a treasure hunt competition!

Me stressed out

It all started when I volunteered to create an AR app for the All Kerala Computer Society Students Convention 2022 (AKCSSC'22), which was conducted by IEEE CS Kerala Chapter. I was excited about the opportunity, but I had never created a location-based AR app before, and the event was only a week away!

AKCSSC website

(image: AKCSSC'22 website)

Thankfully, Ron Zacharia and Jyothika Nithin (of the CS kerala chapter of IEEE) reached out to me and offered their support. Even though I was still in the planning and learning phase, I was optimistic that I would be able to figure it out in time.

As the days went by, I found myself getting busier and busier with college work and exams and additionally, received notice that I would also be conducting a workshop on AR for the attendees. I was worried that I wouldn't have enough time to make the app, and my fears were confirmed when the trial run for marking multiple locations in AR failed due to an error in the Android build. I was in a state of panic, with 48 hours left on the clock, but refused to give up.

Error occurred in unity editor

(image: Error occurred in unity editor)

After scouring through documentation and tutorials, I stumbled upon Takashi Yoshinaga's documentation. It was a lifesaver! By following his approach, I was able to debug my code until everything was working as intended.

(Image: Takashi Yoshinaga's Documentation)

However, at this point I had skipped two exams and had less than 24 hours to prepare, travel to the event venue and conduct an ARCore workshop. My momentary relief at fixing my code was being overwhelmed, but I knew that I couldn't give up now.

The next day, I arrived at the venue, and I had two things on my to-do list – I needed to get some good sleep, and I needed to prepare slides for the workshop. However, things didn't go according to plan. We were scheduled to go on a trekking expedition to a pine forest as part of the program, and the workshop was scheduled to begin right after that.

Pine forest with IEEE CSKS team

(image: At Pine forest with IEEE CSKS team)

Thankfully, I had the support of two amazing minds, Jyothika Nithin and Chethana Raj. They constantly poured in ideas after the trek, on how to plan the treasure hunt and how the application should work. With both of their help, we built everything we needed in time for the final deployment.

But our work wasn't done yet. As a final test, Cyril C Thomas, Joel Joshi, and I went out to test the app. We soon discovered that the AR app wasn't showing up in the correct location. After quickly measuring the latitude and longitude, we made some changes and rebuilt the app. This time, thankfully, it worked perfectly!

A screenshot of the AR app in action

(Picture: A screenshot of the AR app in action)

As the day of the treasure hunt competition arrived, participants eagerly waited for the game to start. They were given instructions on how to download the app and were provided with a brief on how to use it. The Treasure Hunt involved solving a series of clues, leading to the next location. Once the participant reached the location, they had to scan the area using the AR app to find the hidden clue.

 Participants searching for clues using the AR app

(Picture: Participants searching for clues using the AR app)

(Picture: The team behind the AR app development)

The event was a huge success, with participants thoroughly enjoying the Treasure Hunt. They found it exciting and engaging, with some even calling it the highlight of the AKCSSC'22 event. The feedback received was extremely positive, with participants commending the use of technology in the competition

If there's one lesson I learned from this experience, it's that anything is possible if you're willing to put in the time and effort. Don't be afraid to take on new challenges, even if they seem daunting at first. With perseverance and a willingness to learn, you can achieve great things.

Volunteering for events (like AKCSSC'22) not only provides an opportunity to learn new skills but also allows you to give back to your community. It's a great way to meet new people, make friends, and network with like-minded individuals. Moreover, volunteering helps in developing soft skills such as leadership, teamwork, and communication, which are essential in any profession.

If you're interested in volunteering for events like these, don't hesitate to reach out to organisations in your community or college even if you don't have the technical expertise required for a particular task, you can always learn new skills and contribute to the best of your ability.

Conclusion

The AKCSSC'22 event was an unforgettable experience that taught me a lot about AR application development, teamwork, and problem-solving. I'm grateful to have had the opportunity to work with such a talented and supportive team and to have made new friends along the way. I'm excited to see what the future holds and look forward to taking on new challenges and projects.

Editor: Martin James

#team #experience #unity3d #augmentedreality #ar #arcore #ieee #joyofvolunteering #appdevelopment #akcssc #ieeecs #learning #college #students #work #android #androidappdevelopment #hobby #help